Sub-dividing my time

I’m currently sub-dividing my free-time between my second novel (which is an unconventional murder-mystery thriller) and trying to generate publicity for The Gamblers.

It’s not an easy thing to do. Publicity for a self-published work relies on a lot more work for the author than it does for an author who is represented by a publishing house. Posters, leaflets, flyers, sample chapters etc., all need to be overseen or designed by the author. Then comes the legwork, putting posters and leaflets in pubs or cafes that will allow such things, finding other suitable locations for posters, putting professionally designed sample chapters in public places (where people might be tempted to pick them up). I’ve also got in touch with a few contacts who might be able to review the work, and others that I have agreed to write articles/reviews for in an attempt to generate sales.

If anybody can think of any novel (pardon the pun, ha ha) way of generating publicity then please do leave a comment below. I don’t necessarily guarantee I’ll do them all, but if you leave a good idea I may very well give it a go.

2 thoughts on “Sub-dividing my time

  1. Yes, perhaps rob a bank in a Gamblers t-shirt, or maybe try raping the Queen. And when you’re captured, dishevelled an handcuffed, then you’ll have the world’s media at your beck and call.
    Job’s a good ‘un.

Leave a Reply

